Become a KVC Foster Parent
You can change a child’s life by becoming a foster parent! Fostering provides a child who has experienced abuse or neglect with a safe, loving environment. On top of this, it gives you the opportunity to show a child the love and care they deserve while growing emotionally, mentally and spiritually as you teach life skills and give support.
If you’re considering becoming a foster parent, KVC Kansas is here to guide you every step of the way. We will provide you with:
- Free ongoing training and support 24/7, 365 days/year
- 24-hour phone support
- Health insurance for the child
- Assistance finding local resources
- A fun weekend away at our Resource Family Conference, which provides a fantastic learning experience for parents and children
- Monthly reimbursement to meet the child’s needs plus assistance with back-to-school supplies and holiday gifts.
Our website has several resources that can help you get started. Our Frequently Asked Questions page goes over inquiries like “How do I get started?”, and our blog covers a range of a range of helpful topics like Becoming A Foster Parent: Questions About Your First Placement. You can also contact a Community Resource Specialist if you have any questions.
The requirements for becoming a foster parent vary from state to state; however, to meet general requirements in Kansas you must:
- Be at least 21 or older
- Be able to meet basic income guidelines
- Be free from any type of assistance including, but not limited to, Section 8 Housing, food stamps, TANF, or Medicaid
- Be able to provide adequate bedroom space that meets local fire codes and have a separate bed for each child
- Have reliable transportation
- Be willing to complete 30 hours of free training in “Trauma-Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanency – Model Approach for Partnerships in Parenting” (TIPS-MAPP)
- Agree to use non-physical discipline for children
- Be willing for everyone in your household to undergo complete background checks. All licensees will be fingerprinted as a part of the federal Adam Walsh Act
About the Training Class
The “Trauma-Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanency – Model Approach for Partnerships in Parenting” (TIPS-MAPP) training is required by the state of Kansas for all prospective foster parents. This free ten-week course, led by certified professionals and experienced foster parents, is comprised of weekly three-hour meetings with some homework assignments. One or both of the TIPS-MAPP leaders will also visit you and your family in your home for a minimum of two home consultations.
The goal of TIPS-MAPP is to help prospective foster parents gain a better understanding of the skills and knowledge necessary for successful foster parenting. The process presents an opportunity for participants to make informed decisions about their willingness and readiness to become foster parents. Children’s Alliance of Kansas describes this approach to helping prospective foster and adoptive parents make the decision to pursue foster parenting or adoption. Over the course of 10 meetings, parents assess their parenting skills, their desire and ability to work as partners in permanency planning, and their ability to meet the needs of children for safety, permanency, and well-being. Click here for more information about TIPS-MAPP in Kansas.
To enroll in TIPS-MAPP with KVC, please contact your local Community Resource Specialist!
Final Steps to Becoming Licensed
Once you and the caregivers in your home have completed the TIPS-MAPP training class and decide that you wish to become a licensed foster family with KVC, you will be assigned a Family Service Coordinator. The Family Service Coordinator will guide you through your journey. Initially, they will help you complete the Kansas Department for Health and Environment (KDHE) licensing applications and do walk-throughs of your home.
Once licensing forms are received and approved, KDHE will contact you to schedule a final health and safety check of your home prior to issuing a foster care license. All prospective foster parents are also required to receive training in First Aid and CPR, Medication Administration, and Universal Precautions.